top of page
  • Writer's pictureIndependence Elementary

The He"ART" of Giving by Livi Enright

With Valentine’s Day coming soon I started thinking about the kids in the hospital that would not get to go to school and have a fun day with their classmates and friends. Then I thought maybe my school could help bring Valentine’s Day to them and make them happy.


I went to school and shared my idea with a friend in my class. Then my friend and I took the idea to my teacher, Ms. Brodland. She asked us to jot our ideas down on a piece of paper. When other kids in my class heard about the idea, they started sharing their ideas too. We then decided we should make this a classroom service project.


Ms. Brodland looked on the Children’s Hospital wish list and one of the top items were art supplies! Our class decided that we would donate different kinds of art supplies and Ms. Brodland volunteered to deliver the items to the children for us.


Our class changing the world

I saw a lot of people from our class donating and I was super proud of our class and I want the kids in the hospital to know we are always here for them. I get excited and happy that other students want to help other people that they don’t even know. One person can make such a big difference in someone else’s life.


My hope is that the kids at the hospital were so excited to receive our gift and know that we are thinking about them during their tough times. To me they are the real heroes. I feel I have learned something from them, they have shown me to never give up. So, when something challenging comes through my path, I will think of them and push harder and keep on going.


133 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page