top of page
  • Writer's pictureIndependence Elementary

Just a class...and an Idea

Often the most impactful things that we do in the classroom come from students. Read the stories of two students from Mrs. Demling's fifth grade class. They had an dream, set a goal, and as a class worked to make the world a better place.


We can make the world a better place one kind word at a time.

Just before Thanksgiving, I was listening to 106.5 The Arch and I heard that they were doing a project. That project was to collect 10,000 homemade cards. They were going to deliver them to the different hospitals of the Children's Miracle Network during the holidays. It really got me thinking about the caring people of Independence.

After about two weeks or so, I brought it up in class. Mrs. Demling, my teacher, said she would think about it. Then in circle one day, she told the class about it and I gave them a brief explanation. We came up with a goal of 100 cards for our class (four per person). Though it was optional, we  quickly raised about 137 in class. The news of our “little” project spread and I was able to share it with other members of our school. I brought it up in 5th grade Town Hall and 4th grade Town Hall.  I got a bag from Mrs. Lonigro (a fourth grade teacher) with cards in it, and cards from other students as well.  In the Student Council meeting, I suggested we could have a station at Breakfast With Santa so everyone could make cards. It was so cool to see this act of kindness being done during Breakfast With Santa. The station was set up. Time to go to work!  The station was a HIT! We raised 272 cards. We were down to the day, but Mrs. Demling was able to get the cards delivered 106.5 The Arch in the nick of time.  106.5 raised more than 14,000 cards! I was very proud  of spreading this project and so was my family.  It was a success, all thanks to the caring community of Independence Elementary!

~Drew Buckman, 5th

         

One day Drew came into class with an idea to help kids in the hospitals.  Our teacher explained the idea and each one of us was persuaded to write a few cards for kids in hospitals, without their family’s for the holiday season.  106.5 The Arch, would later drop cards off at the hospitals.  Almost everyone agreed that this would be a great way to spread love for the holiday season.  I took the idea home and convinced my brother to help me with the cards.  I dropped them of in the bag the next day and felt great knowing that I had done something to make the world better.  Drew took the idea to one of our Student Council meetings the next week, and we decided to make cards at the Breakfast With Santa event.  At the event I helped at the station next to the cards.  Many family’s stopped by the card booth and wrote a few cards.  This was a simple thing to do, but we knew it could change someone’s entire day! 

The cards were a success, and we got them in to 106.5 The Arch just before they were due!  It was very heartwarming to see all the people who cared about each other during the holiday season, and Independence students making a difference.                                                                                          

~Anika Wilkens, 5th


144 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page